Logo: University of Southern California

Full-time faculty

CSI Full-Time Faculty:

Tenured/tenure-track faculty in CSI and the communications group

Salman Avestimehr
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering; Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2008. Information theory, the theory of communications, and their applications such as wireless networks.
EEB 526,
avestimehr@ee.usc.edu

Todd Brun
Associate Professor; Ph.D., Caltech, 1994.
Quantum Information Theory and Quantum Computation
EEB 502, 213-740-3503,
tbrun@usc.edu

Keith M. Chugg
Associate Professor; Ph.D., USC, 1995.
Iterative detection, coding and modulation, and algorithm-architecture trade-offs for digital hardware implementation.
EEB 500A, (213)740-7294,
chugg@usc.edu

Daniel Lidar
Associate Professor; Ph.D., Hebrew University of Jerusalem, 1997.
Dynamics and control of open quantum systems, quantum computers.
SSC 609, (213) 740-0198,
lidar@usc.edu

William C. Lindsey
Professor; Ph.D., Purdue, 1962.
Adaptive coded modulation, channel characterization, PCS communications, satellite communications, smart modems/antennas, positioning systems.
EEB 510, (213) 740-4675,
wcl@usc.edu

Urbashi Mitra
Associate Professor; Ph.D., Princeton University, 1994.
Multi-user spread-spectrum systems, space-time coding, communication theory, wireless resource allocation, ultra wideband communications, sensor networks.
EEB 540, (213) 740-4667,
ubli@usc.edu

Andreas Molisch
Professor; Ph.D., Technical University Vienna (Austria), 1994. Ultrawideband communications and geolocation, wireless propagation channels, multiple-antenna systems, and cooperative communications.
EEB 530, (213) 740-4670,
molisch@usc.edu

Michael J. Neely
Assistant Professor; Phd, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2003.
Data networks for satellite and wireless
EEB 520, 213-740-3505,
mjneely@usc.edu

Robert A. Scholtz
Professor; Ph.D., Stanford University, 1964.
Communication theory, spread-spectrum techniques, ultra-wideband radio, pseudo-noise generation, applications to communication and radar systems.
EEB 500B, (213) 740-7327,
scholtz@usc.edu

Andrew J. Viterbi
Presidential Chair Professor; Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1962.
Communication theory, coding, applications.

Alan E. Willner
Professor; Ph.D., Columbia, 1988.
High-speed optical fiber communication systems, with emphasis on optical amplification and wavelength-division-multiplexed technologies and networks.
EEB 538, (213) 740-4664,
willner@usc.edu